Glasgow

About a year ago I reconnected with an old friend from my childhood, and in the process was introduced to her half brother from Glasgow. And though I’m usually shy with new people I immediately took to his warm energy. On that first day we met we stayed up until 3am drinking cheap red wine in a small English town talking about philosophy. Daft Punk became the soundtrack to our friendship. Whether he was willing or not, he would become my personal life guru over my next year in the UK. He also tried his best to teach me Glaswegian but my tongue is not made for accents, as much as I tried.

Earlier this year I needed to escape the noise in London for a little while and he invited me up to Glasgow to clear my head. I left on a Friday night after work and he picked me up from the airport. We drove up to Gleniffer Braes, for some excellent views of Glasgow. This was such a great vantage point of the city and the night lights were hypnotising.

After a good night sleep we headed into the city for some sightseeing. When we left home the sky was blue however by the time we had parked the car it had started raining. Typical Glasgow weather I’m told.

Glasgow had a rougher feel to it than Edinburgh. It felt a bit more raw and gritty. This could purely have been because I was with a local and was seeing it through his eyes. I have a great appreciation for street art which this city has plenty of, capturing murals was my top priority for the day.

We started out at the central railway station getting some amazing shots of building sides covered in art. The pieces were absolutely beautiful and the colours amazing. But my mind always comes back to the same thoughts; how does a person have that much vision and patience?!


Our first stop was the Lighthouse, an exhibition space for architecture and design. Some of the models and designs  were interesting, others quite quirky.

We moved on to check out a must see statue, the Equestrain statue of the Duke of Wellington. I was expecting another stone statue of someone I knew nothing of. When I did finally see it, I immediately knew why my guru had brought me here. Sitting atop the head of the duke and his horse was a traffic cone. Immediately thinking Glaswegians are my spirit animal. Then thinking how someone got up that high to do that, there’s definately some parkour skill involved there. It turns out the cones are taken down every now and again by the council but before long find their way back up there again.


We strolled through the war memorial at George Square before taking the steep climb up to the Necropolis. I find long walks with a good friend quite therapeutic. By the time we got to the top I had offloaded the noise in my head. I see what he did there.

I had some more amazing views of the city, this time in the day. We smoked some grass, paid our respects and wandered off. This time taking a less steep route to which my guru knew of, instead he made sure I worked hard for those Glasgow views.


We captured more street art along the River Clyde. I have to say it again, there’s so much appreciation for this artform.

It had started raining again so we both decided it was time to head home. We grabbed a fish supper en route which was much needed given the munchies that were setting in.


The evening was spent waiting for a boxing fight between Anthony Joshua and Wladimir Klitschko, which saw the both of us on the edge of our seats. ‘Twas a good fight and a good end to a day of walking the Glasgow streets.

All be it a wee time with a great lad, Glasgow had a lovely farewell for me the following morning. After some grass smoking and watching the amazing Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2, my Glaswegian guru gave me a tight hug and bid me farewell back to London town.

20170429_152822

Leave a Reply

